Independent Panel of Experts

IMMANA Grants and Fellowships are selected by an Independent Panel of Experts (IPE):

Phase 2 (2019-2024)



Dr. Marie Ruel (Chair)


Prof. Andrew Westby (Co-chair)

Natural Resource Institute

Dr. Simón Barquera

Instituto Nacional de Salud Pública (INSP)  Center for Nutrition and Health Research

Prof. Ruth DeFries

Columbia University

Dr. Suneetha Kadiyala

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (IMMANA PI)

Dr. Eugénie Maiga

Université Norbert Zongo, Burkina Faso

Dr. Sudha Narayanan

Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research

Dr. Agnes Quisumbing


Dr. Daniel Sarpong

School of Agriculture, University of Ghana

Prof. Helen Young

Friedman School of Nutrition Science

Dr. Howard White 

Campbell Collaboration 





















Phase 1 (2015-2019)



Prof. Charles Godfray (Chair)

University of Oxford

Prof. Erwin Bulte

Wageningen University

Pro. Cheryl Doss

Yale University

Dr. Corinna Hawkes

City, University of London

Prof. Anura Kurpad

St John’s Medical School, Bangalore

Prof, J.V. Meenakshi,

Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi

Dr. Agnes Quisumbing

International Food Policy Research Institute

Prof. Mike Rayner

British Heart Foundation Centre on Population Approaches for NCD Prevention, University of Oxford

Dr. Marie Ruel

International Food Policy Research Institute

Prof. Bruce Traill

School of Agriculture, Policy and Development, University of Reading

Prof. Andrew Westby

Natural Resources Institute, University of Greenwich

Dr. Manfred Zeller

Harvest Plus